Online Databases

 

These databases are available within the library and many can be used from your home or office. Access from home or office requires a valid Simsbury Public Library card. For further assistance, call the Reference Department at (860) 658 - 7663, or email ref@simsburylibrary.info.

 

Biography

 

Books & Reading

Biography Resource Center | Biography & Genealogy Master Index | Discovering Collection   Bookletters/Bookpage | E-Reference Books | What Do I Read Next?
     

Business & Finance

 

Encyclopedia

Business & Company Resource Center | Connecticut Firms Operating in Foreign Countries | Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Databases | Foreign Firms Operating in Connecticut | Investor's Business Daily | LegalTrac | Morningstar Mutual Funds Online | Reference USA | RMA Investment Studies | Value Line Investment Survey
(Note: Some databases can only be used within the library and require a password to log in. Reference staff are available to assist you.)
  World Book Online
     

Genealogy

 

General Resources

Ancestry (Only available within library) | Heritage Quest   Academic OneFile | Associated Press Photo Archive | General Reference Center Gold
     

Health

 

History

Health & Wellness Resource Center | Medline Plus | 2-1-1 Community Resources Directory | CT Consumer Health Information | CT Physician Profiles   Hartford Courant - Historical (1764-1922) | Heritage Quest | History Reference Center
     

Magazines

 

Newspapers

General InfoTrac OneFile | Academic OneFile | General Reference Center Gold   iConn Newsstand
     

Test Preparation

   
Learning Express Library | PrepMe    
     
Biography    
Biography Resource Center    
Biographical profiles and images of individuals from antiquity to the present.
     
Biography & Genealogy Master Index    
Covers nearly 5 million people and points to books and other publications that contain their biographies.
     
Discovering Collection    
Information about people, places, and events - history, literature, biography, science and social studies.
     
Books & Reading    
Bookletters/Bookpage    
Find the New York Times bestseller lists, book recommendations, and award-winning titles. Author interviews, book club choices, and more.
     
E-Reference Books    
Search the contents of science, health, and history reference books.
     
What Do I Read Next?    
Reader's advisory tool for all genres and age groups.
     
Business & Finance    
Business & Company Resource Center    
A comprehensive database of company and industry information that includes company profiles, rankings, business statistics, stock prices, and business journal news and analysis. Simsbury residents can access this database from home by entering their valid library card number at the password prompt.
     
Connecticut Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
The authoritative source of information on Connecticut firms with branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates in foreign countries. Connecticut companies listed have a substantial investment in overseas operations - wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch.
     
Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Databases    
This database features 14 million company records, including all U.S. businesses and the most significant segment of Canadian businesses. Research companies for job searches, lead generation, and simple company look-ups. Find companies using over 30 search criteria, including geography, industry, size, and specialty fields. Information includes contact information, decision-maker names, executive biographies, D&B Prescreen Scores, DUNS numbers, and more. Also link directly to corporate family trees. Use the database in the library or access this database from home (Simsbury residents only) by entering your valid library card number at the password prompt.
     
Foreign Firms Operating in Connecticut    
The authoritative source of information on foreign firms (non-American) with branches, subsidiaries, or affiliates in Connecticut. Foreign companies listed have a substantial investment in American operations - wholly or partially owned subsidiary affiliate or branch.
     
Investor's Business Daily    
An investment tool to help you find winning stocks before they break out. IBD is filled with stock lists, ratings, unbiased market analysis and much, much more. Access only from within the library.
     
LegalTrac    
Articles from legal, business and general interest publications.
     
Morningstar Mutual Funds Online    
Find the best mutual funds at Morningstar. Access research, ratings, performance data, and articles, all designed to help you invest confidently in mutual funds. Access only from within the library.
     
Reference USA    
Directory of over 12,000,000 businesses in the United States that can be searched either by name, geography, size, and type of business. Simsbury residents can access this database from home by entering their valid library card number at the password prompt.
     
RMA Investment Studies    
The RMA Annual Statement Studies® have been used by over 500,000 financial professionals as a source of detailed industry financial data for comparing businesses to industry in valuation reports, company/industry ratio analyses and credit decisions.
     
Value Line Investment Survey    
Provides investment research on stocks, mutual funds, options and convertibles, and offers a family of no-load mutual funds. Access only from within the library.
     
Magazines    
General InfoTrac OneFile    
iConn's largest collection of articles from magazines, newspapers, academic journals and trade publications.
     
Academic OneFile    
Articles from journals and reference sources. Covers the arts and sciences, theology, literature, and other academic subjects.
     
General Reference Center Gold    
Articles from magazines, journals, and reference books.    
     
Newspapers    
iConn Newsstand    
Includes the Boston Globe, New York Times, Hartford Courant, and many more.
     
Test Preparation    
Learning Express Library    
Provides interactive online practice tests and tutorial courses for academic and licensing tests, including, but not limited to, Advanced Placement exams, TOEFL, Nursing exams, Graduate Record exams, and many more.
     
PrepMe    
Use PrepMe to prepare for the SAT & ACT exams. Their course will identify your strengths and weaknesses and create a custom week-by-week schedule for you to help you raise your score. PrepMe is the test preparation course for many schools and districts around the country.
     

 

© Simsbury Public Library, 1996 - 2008.         Comments? Email the Webmaster